Zappa.com

The Official Frank Zappa Messageboards
It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: New to Zappa...
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 7:08 pm 

I'm pretty new to Zappa, (and younger than most FZ fans) and I've only gotten four of his albums so far. (We're Only in it For The Money, Apostrophe, Absolutely Free, and Weasels Ripped My Flesh)<br><br>I'm wondering what the absolutely essential Zappa albums are, after those... If you had to have those albums, and only five other FZ albums, what would the other five be?  I don't really know any one else who likes him (most of the people I know have pretty crappy taste in music), so your help would really be appreciated... (note: I really have no preference, I like experimental rock, jazz, etc)

Post subject: Re: New to Zappa...
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 1:08 am 

I'm not much further down the line than you, with only 12 albums so far (and none of the four you've got).  But from those I recommend for your next moves:<br><br>Sheik Yerbouti             (sheer variety of musical and lyrical ideas)<br>You Are What You Is   (even sheerer variety of the above)<br>Hot Rats                      (rock-jazz fusion)<br>The Grand Wazoo       (jazz-rock fusion)<br>Overnite Sensation     (just great straight rock)<br>

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 2:56 am 

Welcome Torgo.<br><br>He hears his masters voice  ;)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:58 pm