Zappa.com

The Official Frank Zappa Messageboards
It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 11:32 pm 

I am an expert guitarist and I think ... December 16, 2003 <br>.... that soon or late someone musically schooled should tell the truth about this album and about Zappa's guitar playing in general. The man surely had charisma, he had musical visions, he was extremely intelligent and funny and I will agree with anyone who will call him a true genius. He was, absolutly, without a doubt. I like Zappa's music, I own many albums of his, and I like them mainly from the compositional standpoint. Anyway this album is more or less only about his guitar playing so it is about that craft that I would like to say something. Well folks, Zappa didn't know how to play a da#n guitar. Someone should have took away the guitar from him!! His solos are completly meaningless. They are absolutly primitive and 99% wrong ... and please don't tell me they are expressive. These solos are pure musical nonsense. Frank had a pretty primitive technique and I can't understand how a musician so prepared , an orchestra director such as he was, could accept to play in that amateur way in front of an audience and release this trash. I mean this music is horrible. His guitar playing is pure garbage. He goes out of time, none of his notes is intelligible, no line has a meaning, the solos go nowhere, his guitar sound is really bad ... unbelievable. If I had heard these solos without knowing Frank was playing I would have judged these solos as amateur level efforts from a student who may have studied maybe six months. If you don't consider the support provided by the exceptional orchestra who played behind the MAN what remains is just boring and very limited guitar solos ! This is the truth. I think that this album clarify this point without any reasonable doubt. So kind readers, if you love Zappa's music buy something more important than this re