Zappa.com

The Official Frank Zappa Messageboards
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Free Bird
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:08 pm 

I am kinda new to the Zappa-verse.
I have heard what I think may be an Urban myth regarding Frank Zappa's live shows.
IS it true that every time some one would yeell out FREE BIRD the band would stop and play the song?
And
If that is true is it also true that they once palyed it over ten times in one show?
Thanks, jtb

Post subject: Re: Free Bird
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:20 pm 
Banned

glassic wrote:
I am kinda new to the Zappa-verse.
I have heard what I think may be an Urban myth regarding Frank Zappa's live shows.
IS it true that every time some one would yeell out FREE BIRD the band would stop and play the song?
And
If that is true is it also true that they once palyed it over ten times in one show?
Thanks, jtb

That's funny because it seems that at some point during almost every Project/Object show someone in the crowd yells, "FREE BIRD!" It never gets old. To my knowledge, FZ never performed Free Bird at a show.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:06 pm 

someone did yell whipping post and frank eventually had his song play it in later shows. but not ten times a show and not everytime someone yelled it.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:30 am 

Guy In The Audience: "Whipping Post"!
FZ: Say that again please
Guy In The Audience: "Whipping Post"!
FZ: "Whipping Post"? Ok, just a second . . . (Do you know that?) Oh sorry, we don't know that one. Anything else? Hum me a few bars of it, please, just show me how it goes, please. Just sing, sing me "Whipping Post" and then maybe we'll play it with you
Guy In The Audience: Ooh-ooh-ooh . . .
FZ: Thank you very much. And now . . . Judging from the way you sang it, it must be a John Cage composition, right? Here we go, "Montana." One two, one two three four

I might be movin' to . . .