Zappa.com

The Official Frank Zappa Messageboards
It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:40 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 2:38 pm 

I grew up in the United States.  I started listening to FZ's music in about 1977-78ish.  At that time, I also listened to the radio.  As you probably know from FZ's writing, his music was hardly EVER on the radio when he was alive (I don't listen to radio anymore, but I doubt this injustice has improved).  Most people I encountered in everyday life did not know of FZ's music, just that he had some songs with dirty words in them.  I soon realized that my hero was not terribly popular or appreciated in my home country.<br><br>Many years later, around 1990-91, I was a high school teacher geography teacher.  I usually had at least one "foreign exchange student" in at least one class each year (that is, students from other counties would attend school in the USA for a year; all of mine were from Europe).  I used to show this documentary video about the fall of the Berlin Wall and the events in Eastern Europe in 1989-90 as all freedom broke loose etc. . . There was a segment of the vidoe that was a video collage of these events that had some dumb John Williams kinda sounding movie soundtrack music in the background; during that part of the video, I'd play Muffin Man and explain to my students that Vaclav Havel was an FZ fan blah, blah . . . <br><br>WITHOUT FAIL, my American students asked: "Who's Frank Zappa?"  The European students ALWAYS knew who he was, and usually knew a song title or 2 (usually Bobby Brown Goes Down).  Of course, there is the FZ statue in Lithuania.<br><br>Was (is) FZ "popular" in Europe?  I mean, is/was his music on the radio?  Did many people know who he was?   Did people admire him?  <br><br>Or was the FZ fan crowd pretty much a click of freaks who know the REAL truth like in the US?<br><br>VCF

Revel in your otherness. MK

STILL pissed at Tipper. VCF

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2003 3:48 pm