Zappa.com

The Official Frank Zappa Messageboards
It is currently Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:58 am 

From the time I fell in love with FZ's music and ideas in 1973, I felt a passionate need to sit down and talk with him, one on one. Not because I was a big fan and wanted to drool all over him, but because I felt that his view of the world was the only objective assessment of reality that I'd ever heard.

In 1980, when I was a law student, one of my professors quoted FZ in class. It was a class in Corporations, and according to my professor FZ once said, "If you want to stop crime in America, put a cop on every Board of Directors." That gave me an idea.

Because I was a reporter for my law school newspaper, and also because at this time FZ was still embroiled in his suit with Warner Brothers, I sent a letter to FZ's publicist, WARTOKE (the name and address appeared on the rear cover of Joe's Garage, I believe). In this letter, I requested an interview with FZ on the subject of his views on the legal system, to be printed in the Brooklyn Law School newspaper.

To my surprise, I got a letter from Jane Friedman at Wartoke, agreeing to an interview. There were some negotiations involved: FZ's legal team said that Frank could not comment directly on the Warner Brothers suit. I offered to allow FZ final editing rights on the interview transcript. That sealed the deal.

On 08 May 1980, I appeared with my tape deck at FZ's suite at the St. Regis Hotel in Manhattan, where he was staying for a New York concert. John Smothers opened the door to the suite. He was every bit as intimidating in this personal setting as he was at the concerts. Seeing me, Frank seemed to get the feeling that I was no threat and John left the room.