Zappa.com

The Official Frank Zappa Messageboards
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 3:39 am 

Just wondering what tracks you'd put on a compilation designed to showcase all sides of Frank Zappa's music, from early mothers of invention stuff to later metal stuff with classical music, humourous tracks and jazz all included, that was designed for a complete beginner who'd never heard Zappa's musicand no longer than 70 minutes. This is my own attempt:<br><br>1. You Could Be a Star Now    (Cheap Thrills)<br>2. Dog Breath/Uncle Meat       (Yellow Shark)<br>3. Electric Aunt Jemima           (Uncle Meat)<br>4. Camarillo Brillo                    (Over-nite Sensation)<br>5. Whatever Happened to all the fun...   (Sheik Yerbouti)<br>6. King Kong                           (Ahead of their Time)<br>7. Joe's Garage                      (Joes Garage Act 1)<br>8. Peaches en Regalia            (Hot Rats)<br>9. Trouble Everyday               (Freakout!)<br>10.Living in California             (Uncle Meat)<br>11.Inca Roads                        (One Size Fits All)<br>12.Naval Aviation in Art          (The Perfect Stranger)<br>13.Stuff up the Cracks           (Cruising WIth Ruben and the Jets)<br>14.Trying to Grow a Chin       (Sheik Yerbouti)<br>15.Take your Clothes off       (We're only in it for the Money)<br>16.Watermelon in Easter Hay   (Joes Garage Act 3)<br><br>Just wondering what everyone else thinks of my selection and what you would do yourselves. Its difficult to do because you can never be sure what side of Zappa people will latch onto so you need to showcase all of them

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:49 am