Frank Zappa – Apostrophe (‘)

Complete, note-for-note tab transcriptions for Frank Zappa's epic 1974 tour de force, featuring over-the-top zany lyrics and subject matter, searing guitar virtuosity, and tight arrangements veering between rock and jazz fusion. Includes all 9 songs that have become classics of the Zappa legacy: 

  • Apostrophe'
  • Cosmik Debris
  • Don't Eat the Yellow Snow
  • Excentrifugal Forz
  • Father O'Blivion
  • Nanook Rubs It
  • St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast
  • Stink-Foot
  • Uncle Remus

Plus great full-page photos of Frank and a foreword by Cree Summer.

Publisher: Hal Leonard 
Publication Date: August 1, 2003
ISBN: 9780634033216
UPC: 073999542820
Paperback: 96 pages
Product Dimensions: 9 x 0.3 x 12 inches
Language: English



How do you express a love so big? First, let me say, that I am honored and grateful for the opportunity to try.

At the tender age of seven, my father introduced me to the music of Mr. Frank Zappa by giving me a copy of the 1976 recording of Zoot Allures. It had me singing, dancing and laughing my ass off. Once my giggling subsided, I remember feeling like I was in on a secret. This feeling quickly grew into an out loud, full-blown love affair that led to the annexation of all my father's Zappa albums. As I grew older, I developed a deeper appreciation for the sounds and lyrics: they were limitless, rebellious and ever changing.

Apostrophe (') / Over-nite Sensation, my favorite record of all time, exemplifies the mastery of musicianship that is Frank Zappa. I remember the first time I heard the sinister stank of the intro to "I'm the Slime," I never knew a guitar could sound so deliciously nasty. Then he socks it to you with “Dirty Love,” with, vocals so funky and so sweet. All of Frank's arrangements have a depth that will challenge you as a musician and as a human being. I invite you to open yourself up and let this music in to your soul, you will never be the same again.

The music of Frank Zappa has shaped my life and changed my mind. For the inspiration and sensation I will forever be grateful.

Cree Summer
Los Angeles
18 December 2002