August 16th 2002


  • Hordern Intro (Incan Art Vamp)
  • Stink-Foot
  • The Poodle Lecture
  • Dirty Love
  • Filthy Habits
  • How Could I Be Such A Fool?
  • I Ain't Got No Heart
  • I'm Not Satisfied
  • Black Napkins
  • Advance Romance
  • The Illinois Enema Bandit
  • Wind Up Workin' In A Gas Station
  • The Torture Never Stops
  • Canard Toujours
  • Kaiser Rolls
  • Find Her Finer
  • Carolina Hard-Core Ecstasy
  • Lonely Little Girl
  • Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance
  • What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body?
  • Chunga's Revenge
  • Zoot Allures
  • Keep It Greasy
  • Dinah-Moe Humm
  • Camarillo Brillo
  • Muffin Man
  • Kaiser Rolls (Du Jour)

Official Release #70
Originally Released: August 16, 2002
Label: Vaulternative
Catalog Number: VR 2002-1 
Produced by: Dweezil Zappa 

FRANK ZAPPA guitar, vocals
TERRY BOZZIO drums, vocals
NAPOLEON MURPHY BROCK tenor sax, vocals
ROY ESTRADA bass, vocals
ANDRE LEWIS keyboards, vocals
Music, Performance, Band & Recordings by Frank Zappa
Audience by Sydney, Australia
Produced by Dweezil Zappa
Vaultmeisterment by Joe Travers
Mixed at UMRK by Spencer Chrislu
Mastered by Steve Hall at Future Disc
Executive Producer/Liner notes by Gail Zappa with Dweezil & Joe
Package concept by GZ
Design rendered by Tracy Veal & Eric Josephbek for Creative Portal
Special thanks go to Norman Gunston, a fine, fine tv show host & very reasonable harmonica player with exceedingly funny persuasions, for his guestly duties (The Torture Never Stops).
Thanks also to Kent Huffnagle for his timewarp pitch adjustment on Zoot bootleg. Bill Lantz, thanks (you bastard) for (not saying by what means you came by) this tape and cooperating (anyway).
Honorable mention to Jenny Brown.
p.s. FZ enjoyed his experiences in Australia as revealed in certain resultant manifestations – Florentine Pogen, for instance – but this is merely an irrelevant clue.
This is the concert. Here’s the deal:
Upon excavation of these remnants from the vault we discovered this concert almost in its entirety. Excerpts of the concert have been replaced with bootleg recordings to fill in the gaps during the times when the multitracks ran out (as in reel changes – there was only one machine). In one instance a multitrack recording from Japan (same tour, same band) was used in preference to a bootleg. The concert on the 21st was recorded but the tapes were unusable.
In our efforts here at UMRK to provide you with the finest optional audio entertainment (in the universe) we deploy the inimitably-skilled audio archiveologist, Joe Travers, to venture forth (where few are chosen but many have called) into the FZ sequin mines, dismote the ages and identify suitable nuggets.
A nugget, for purposes of the extravaganzas herein retained, is: a significant artifact by virtue of being an unreleased composition, a special performance or arrangement, a thrilling example from a less-documented line-up, a rare recording from somewhere other than a studio or stage and/or otherwise previously unreleased recording, highly nutritional trims and/or outs, different edits or mixes, a special project, a rehearsal, home recording, an excerpt from an interview or otherwise spoken gem, perhaps a “build reel” or other ‘as-is’ (unadulterated by FZ) item, exquisite in quality, uniqueness or hotness anywhereanytimeanyplace (aka aaa – see also aaafnra: anything anytime anywhere for no reason at all), from the breadth and depth of FZ’s career in lifeasweknowit (lawki). Praise the l.o.r.d. (also a defined term: living on reproduceable data)!
This is the first in a series of live recordings. As in all other UMRK-related productions and now, in concert with Vaulternative Records, the decision-making process is secret but we are prepared to reveal the following confluences: In this particular case the master tapes were 8-track analog one inch reels. The track sheets indicated that the band had been submixed and FZ’s guitar and vocal were separated out. Fortunately the submix was pretty well-balanced.
However we were still limited in how much tweakage we could administer to the rest of the mix as far as stereo imaging and panning is concerned. The editing process was further complicated by the fact that we had to omit two songs (highly represented elsewhere) due to the time constraint of the discs and the exec producer’s insistance that a complete rendition of Kaiser Rolls was required – hence the rehearsal from a vault recording dated 6 January 1976.
This is the first official vault release. It is #70 on the official Frank Zappa Masters list. This was the first date of Frank’s last series of appearances onstage in the land of Oz.