The Hot Rats Sessions

December 20th 2019
The Hot Rats Sessions


  • Piano Music (Section 1)
  • Piano Music (Section 3)
  • Peaches En Regalia (Prototype)
  • Peaches En Regalia (Section 1, In Session)
  • Peaches En Regalia (Section 1, Master Take)
  • Peaches Jam - Part 1
  • Peaches Jam - Part 2
  • Peaches En Regalia (Section 3, In Session)
  • Peaches En Regalia (Section 3, Master Take)
  • Arabesque (In Session)
  • Arabesque (Master Take)
  • Dame Margaret's Son To Be A Bride (In Session)
  • It Must Be A Camel (Part 1, In Session)
  • It Must Be A Camel (Part 1, Master Take)
  • It Must Be A Camel (Intercut, In Session)
  • It Must Be A Camel (Intercut, Master Take)
  • Natasha (In Session)
  • Natasha (Master Take)
  • Bognor Regis (Unedited Master)
  • Willie The Pimp (In Session)
  • Willie The Pimp (Unedited Master Take)
  • Willie The Pimp (Guitar OD 1)
  • Willie The Pimp (Guitar OD 2)
  • Transition (Section 1, In Session)
  • Transition (Section 1, Master Take)
  • Transition (Section 2, Intercut, In Session)
  • Transition (Section 2, Intercut, Master Take)
  • Transition (Section 3, Intercut, In Session)
  • Transition (Section 3, Intercut, Master Take)
  • Lil' Clanton Shuffle (Unedited Master)
  • Directly From My Heart To You (Unedited Master)
  • Another Waltz (Unedited Master)
  • Dame Margaret's Son To Be A Bride (Remake)
  • Son Of Mr. Green Genes (Take 1)
  • Son Of Mr. Green Genes (Master Take)
  • Big Legs (Unedited Master Take)
  • It Must Be A Camel (Percussion Tracks)
  • Arabesque (Guitar OD Mix)
  • Transition (Full Version)
  • Piano Music (Section 3, OD Version)
  • Peaches En Regalia (1987 Digital Re-Mix)
  • Willie The Pimp (1987 Digital Re-Mix) (23751)
  • Son Of Mr. Green Genes (1987 Digital Re-Mix)
  • Little Umbrellas (1987 Digital Re-Mix)
  • The Gumbo Variations (1987 Digital Re-Mix)
  • It Must Be A Camel (1987 Digital Re-Mix)
  • The Origin Of Hot Rats
  • Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #1
  • Peaches En Regalia (1969 Mono Single Master)
  • Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #2
  • Little Umbrellas (1969 Mono Single Master)
  • Lil' Clanton Shuffle (1972 Whitney Studios Mix)
  • Little Umbrellas (Cucamonga Version)
  • Little Umbrellas (1969 Mix Outtake)
  • It Must Be A Camel (1969 Mix Outtake)
  • Son Of Mr. Green Genes (1969 Mix Outtake)
  • More Of The Story Of Willie The Pimp
  • Willie The Pimp (Vocal Tracks)
  • Willie The Pimp (1969 Quick Mix)
  • Dame Margaret's Son To Be A Bride (1969 Quick Mix)
  • Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #3
  • Bognor Regis (1970 Record Plant Mix)
  • Peaches En Regalia (1969 Rhythm Track Mix)
  • Son Of Mr. Green Genes (1969 Rhythm Track Mix)
  • Little Umbrellas (1969 Rhythm Track Mix)
  • Arabesque (Guitar Tracks)
  • Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #4

Official Release #115
Catalog Number: ZR 20032

MUSICIANS: CAPTAIN BEEFHEART—vocal on “Willie The Pimp” (courtesy Straight Records) • SUGAR CANE HARRIS—violin on “Willie The Pimp” & “The Gumbo Variations” • JEAN LUC PONTY—violin on “It Must Be A Camel” (courtesy World Pacific Records) • JOHN GUERIN-drums on “Willie The Pimp”, “Little Umbrellas” & “It Must Be A Camel” • PAUL HUMPHREY—drums on “Son Of Mr. Green Genes” & “The Gumbo Variations” • RON SELICO—drums on “Peaches En Regalia” • MAX BENNETT—bass on “Willie The Pimp”, “Son Of Mr. Green Genes”, “Little Umbrellas”, “The Gumbo Variations” & “It Must Be A Camel” • SHUGGIE OTIS—bass on “Peaches En Regalia” • • • ENGINEERS: DICK KUNC— Whitney Studios • JACK HUNT—T.T.G. • CLIFF GOLDSTEIN—T.T.G. • BRIAN INGOLDSBY—Sunset Sound • Recorded 16 track August through September 1969 • • Director of Engineering for Bizarre: DICK KUNC • Art Direction & Concept by Frank Zappa, NT&B. • Cover design: CAL SCHENKEL • Cover photos: ANDEE NATHANSON • Interior design: JOHN WILLIAMS • All Compositions composed & arranged by Frank Zappa, controlled worldwide by the Zappa Trust, dba Munchkin Music. All rights reserved.


All original recordings Produced by Frank Zappa
Produced for release by Ahmet Zappa & Joe Travers
All 16 Track and 2 Track analog tape hi-res transfers by Joe Travers, UMRK & Joe’s Garage
Original 1969 Recording Engineers:
T.T.G. Studios: Jack Hunt, Cliff Goldstein
Sunset Sound Studios: Brian Ingoldsby
Whitney Studios: Dick Kunc

2019 mixes by Craig Parker Adams at Winslow Ct Studios
Mastered by Bob Ludwig, Gateway Mastering 2019
Cover Photo & Additional Infrared Photos: ©1969 Andee Nathanson
Sessions Photography: 1969 Bill Gubbins
Tape & Tape Box Photography: Michael Mesker
Additional images courtesy of The Vault
Art Direction & Design: Michael Mesker
Hot Rats Board Game by Fantoons Animation Studio
Project Manager: Melanie Starks
Special Thanks to Andee Nathanson, Bill Gubbins, Scott Parker, & Matt Groening.

"Directly From My Heart To You" written by Richard Wayne Penniman aka Little Richard

Profound thanks to Ian Underwood. His collaboration with the composer and contribution to Hot Rats cannot be overstated. The album would not be what it is without his prodigious multiinstrumental abilities, high standards and complete commitment to the music.

“That’s where I got the idea for ... the title for the “Hot Rats” album: There’s a recording that I picked up in Europe that had ... “The Shadow of Your Smile” with Archie Schepp playing on it, and he played this solo that just sounded to me immediately like there was this fucking army of preheated rats screaming out of his saxophone. That’s what it sounded like.” — FZ